The Department of Zoology started in 1967 with 38 students under the judicious guidance of Prof.N V John. In 1968 Prof. V M Ouseph was appointed as the Head of the Department. Prof. Mathew M Maliekal and Prof. Kochuthresia Joseph was joined Parallel with it The non teaching staff too, grow in strength with Mr. Joseph, Mr. Paulose, Mr. VP Joseph ans K J Thomas(taxidermist). The first batch of B SC zoology students came off with flying colours in 1970. The following years new members were added to the faculty. Prof. K C Joseph joined in 1975. Prof.  Rosemary, Jancy Annie John, Laly Mathew and Sasikala K Joseph worked in various vacancies and later transferred to Nirmala College, Muvattupuzha. Sri Thampi Varghese joined the staff in 1983. Prof. V M Ouseph after serving the college meritoriously for 20 years retired in 1986. Prof. N V John promoted as Head of the Department in 1986 and Prof Annamma Mathew transferred from pavanathma College, Murikassery. Prof. P C Mary, prof. Kochurani K C, Prof. Dilmol Varghese, and Prof Laly Paul were added in between and transferred to Nirmala College Muvattupuzha, and Pavanathma College Murikkaserry. Prof. N V John after 28 years service retired in 1993. Prof Mathew M Maliekal retired in 1998 after 32 years long service. Prof. Kochutresia Joseph  promoted as the HOD and Prof K C Joseph promoted as HOD and transferred to Nirmala College, Muvattupuzha in 1998. In 2002 Prof Kochutresia Joseph retired and Prof. Thampi Varghese was promoted as HOD.  Smt. Kochurani K C was shifted to Newman college as work arrangement in 2000 and transferred in 2003. Prof Annamma Mathew retired on 2009 afer 28 yeas service. Prof Thampi Varghese and Prof Laly Paul retired in 2016.  Prof Kochurani K C appointed as the HOD. Prof Kochurani K C retired in 2017. Smt. Jisha Jacob from Nirmala College was transferred and appointed the Head of Department.

The Department has at present three faculty members with two permanent members and one guest faculty and one lab assistant. The present student strength in the department is 110.