Department of Botany

The department of Botany was established along with the inception of the college in 1964. Subsidiary Botany course for B.Sc. Zoology main students was started in 1967. B.Sc. degree course in Botany with Plant Biotechnology as vocational subject and Biochemistry as allied subject was started in 1999. The department offers B.Sc. Botany Model II Course and a UGC sponsored career oriented add-on course in plant tissue culture. The former faculty members of this department include Prof. Rev. Sr. Lisieux, Prof. Rev. Sr. Bertha, Prof. Cicily Sebastian, Prof. K.J. John, Prof. Mary V.D., Prof. Louis Ninan, Prof. Biniamma Abraham, and Prof. Philomina T.V.

The department is equipped with three DST- FIST supported laboratories for Botany, Microbiology and Biotechnology. We have a small Botanical Garden and a good collection of well preserved specimens in the museum. In addition to teaching; seminars, invited lectures, field trips and nature camps form an integral part of the academic programme of the department. The faculty members hold responsible positions in the college for the smooth functioning of the different clubs and forums for supporting the students in developing their social commitment and cultural and literary talents.

Associate Professors

    1.  Dr. Leena John M.Sc., M.Phil., Ph. D (HoD)             9446606544

    2.  Dr.Stephen JosephM.Sc., M.Phil, Ph.D.                225377, 9447612913

         Assistant Professors

     3.  Dr. Saju Abraham M.Sc., Ph. D.                           9447384331

     4.  Ms. Sindhu Rachel Joy M.Sc.                               9495923123


         Assistant Professors on Contract

    5.  Ms. Parvathy S., M.Sc.                                           9497675624

     6.  Ms. Rathi C.R., M.Sc.                                            9947106185